by a string

Holy smokes, these things are addictive!

Huzzah for the first month of the Vintage Sheet Quilting Bee, a new bee started by Jen, who is also the mastermind behind the vintage sheet swaps that are responsible for the ever-multiplying mountain of vintage sheets in my closet, as well as the Rosey Little Bee, for which I’m also tagging along (as if I didn’t already have enough UFOs to work on!). I am super excited for both bees — besides being a great way to make new bloggy friends, it’s going to be so fun to make all those different blocks without the commitment of making an entire quilt.

For the first month of the Vintage Sheet Bee, Rachel requested paper pieced string blocks, made from the odds and ends in our stashes (excellent tutorial here). I kind of wish I’d made my strips wider (most of them are 1.5 inches), but I like them the way they are. I can’t wait to see everyone else’s blocks — the end result is going to be a serious party of a quilt.

I finished the back of my monstrosity tonight, so I’m dropping it off at the long-arm quilter’s tomorrow!!! Eeee!!!

5 Responses to “by a string”

  1. 1 rachel March 5, 2010 at 7:02 am

    gorgeous….what a collection of sheets you must have!

  2. 3 S March 6, 2010 at 2:24 am

    What a happy quilt block!

  3. 4 Tasheena March 10, 2010 at 4:51 am

    I’m crossing my fingers too…. And shut up about my banner already. I’m working on it. :0

  4. 5 jen March 13, 2010 at 5:54 am

    Love how it turned out!! I haven’t done mine yet, want to go o it right now, but need to wash hair and go to sleep. Maybe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

I'm Amanda. I love color. I love treats. I love texture. I love my babies. I love my man. I love faith. And I love that you stopped by!
The Modern Marigold


themodernmarigold {at} gmail {dot} com

Flickr Photos

More Photos


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

