calling all fashion police

So I found this top at Target that I absolutely love. The only problem is that I don’t have a skirt to match it (I know, my life is sooo complicated). Jean shorts are fine, but it is already way too hot to wear anything but skirts! So, thanks to the 20-Minute Skirt tutorial over at Ruffles and Stuff (add that one to your reader; I swear that woman is a tutorial machine), I cranked out two (two!) skirts during naptime today — one in yellow linen, one in an old sheet.

I really like the yellow one and will wear it with other stuff, but the black and white one — I’m not so sure. For one thing, I don’t usually wear clothes that are quite that bold. For two, I’m worried that it’s just too much. For three, I’m worried that I look like an escaped inmate.

They are true down-and-dirty skirts — I think their combined value is like $7 — the seams aren’t finished, and I didn’t measure anything but the hem — so you won’t hurt my feelings if you tell me that I should burn one of them. But for heaven’s sake, don’t tell me that I should burn both of them. I do have a little pride, you know.

So? What’s the verdict?

14 Responses to “calling all fashion police”

  1. 1 Leigh May 26, 2010 at 1:08 am

    I would SO not qualify as fashion police on any planet (unless there’s a planet where schlumpy moms are high fashion). So take this with a grain of salt, but I would LOVE the stripey skirt with a solid black top. I think the two patterns together are a bit much, but if you “anchor” the pattern with a solid it would be awesome! Love the yellow one as is!

  2. 2 Sarah May 26, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Love the yellow one! I think the black may be a little bold…it would look cute with a black shirt!
    “For three, I’m worried that I look like an escaped inmate.”-LOL!

  3. 3 April May 26, 2010 at 3:05 am

    I’m definitely NOT a fashion guru at all, but I really like the yellow. Not completely positive about the strips, but the more I look at it the more I like it. I like Leigh’s idea of pairing it with a plain black top but I think it works with that top as well. And don’t worry, inmates wear orange jumpsuits these days!

  4. 4 Corktree May 26, 2010 at 5:14 am

    Well, I like both of them, but if you ask Lauren, she’ll tell you not to listen to my opinion on fashion. But I think they both look fun with the shirt. It’s good to go bold once in a while!

  5. 5 Nicole May 26, 2010 at 6:15 am

    LOVE the yellow! I was going to say yellow or teal when I first saw the (super cute!) shirt, before I scrolled down and saw what you actually picked. Way to go!

    I’d also totally rock the stripe if you mix in some bold solid color accessory, ie) bright red flats, a teal or purple or blue belt or sash, a big chunky solid color necklace, or a fun headband! Add one of your fabulous colored-bags & you’ll have a great outfit. You’ve just gotta OWN it when you wear it, or it’ll fall flat. ; )

    Love you!

  6. 6 Megan May 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Jake said “that’s Lizzy’s mommy”
    You are not an escaped inmate-that’s for sure. I like them both & total bonus on the Target top!
    Yeeooow-one hot mama!

  7. 7 Jess May 26, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    I like them both. The yellow is a little more safe and very pretty, but the stripes are so bold and funky that I think you could have a lot of fun with that skirt!

  8. 8 Alsia May 26, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I like the yellow. I probably wouldn’t wear the stripes but it might look good with a red t-shirt.

  9. 9 Jenny May 26, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I like them both, I wouldn’t get rid of either. I like the bold black and white skirt with your cool shirt. Pair it with some colorful jewlery (teal maybe) and even some bold colorful shoes and I think you’d be one hot mamma. ;)

  10. 10 Lauren May 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I would say Courtney’s opinion is good to listen to in any scenario! Back to the skirts, I definitely like the yellow, and agree that the black and white stripes are bold, but you can do it if you’re going to “own” it. I’d probably feel a little too self conscious myself.

  11. 11 Jillian May 27, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Wow, maybe I’m just a bold person, because my first thought was, “Wait, what’s wrong with the stripes? Those aren’t bold!” ha ha. The advice above is great. YOU, my dear, look great–by the way.

  12. 12 Beverly May 27, 2010 at 4:42 am

    I like the yellow better than the stripe. The stipe might like a 3-4″ band of black at the hem to give the eye a place to stop and balance it. Cute with or without the band though. Score on the shirt! You are amazing Amanda!

  13. 13 Destiny December 29, 2011 at 5:17 am

    I would shorten the black and white skirt alot. Throw some leggings under it with some boots and wear a little glitter vest open over the shirt. Some long necklaces preferably silver to top it off. But that’s just me.

  1. 1 lace ruffle tunic « little cumulus Trackback on May 27, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

I'm Amanda. I love color. I love treats. I love texture. I love my babies. I love my man. I love faith. And I love that you stopped by!
The Modern Marigold


themodernmarigold {at} gmail {dot} com

Flickr Photos

More Photos


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

