liberty shirring

You know that scene in The Incredibles where Edna tells Helen, “This has completely consumed my life, dahling”? I’m starting to feel that way about shirring. (Edna is my favorite character in that movie, by the way.)

Last week I was working on a custom top for a friend, and she wanted a small section in the back to be a little bit gathered somehow. I hadn’t tried shirring before, but that’s what came to mind. Luckily, Disney of Ruffles and Stuff has an amazing tutorial — and extra-luckily, shirring is really, really easy; it’s honestly no different than sewing straight lines.

Other than the basic how-to, there’s one other thing you need to know about shirring: it will make you want to shirr up pretty much everything in your closet. It’s fairly dangerous.

So I’m trying to replicate a top I got at Forever 21 last summer that I absolutely love, but is a teensy bit low-cut for my taste. For the fabric, I pulled out a sheet from my stash that looks like a Liberty print. Does anyone know if there’s a way to tell for sure? The sheet is very well-loved and is really faded in some places, but I love those flowers. I got through shirring the front piece before I ran out of elastic thread; I’m going out to buy some more today and will shirr the back piece tonight.

Any interest out there in a tutorial for a shirred top with sleeves?

6 Responses to “liberty shirring”

  1. 1 beth June 28, 2010 at 1:32 pm


  2. 2 Amy Wesberry June 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    This looks awesome! I’m so glad you shared this…I had NO idea it would be so easy. I can’t wait to try it out!

  3. 3 Sandy June 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I would love a tutorial on a shirt with sleeves. All of the ones I’ve seen are without sleeves and I would love to make one that has them. Thanks!

  4. 4 Angie June 30, 2010 at 5:24 am

    Yes please! (I am a bit scared of shirring, but I just need to do it!)

  5. 5 D July 1, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    You’re seriously so brave! I have thought that shirring can’t be too difficult, but then I talk myself out of it and haven’t tried it. A tutorial would be AWESOME! And sleeves too?!!! YEAH!

    And your “ovary-tickling” comment made me laugh — where do you come up with these things Miss? LOVES!

  1. 1 liberty shirring, part 2 « little cumulus Trackback on June 29, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

I'm Amanda. I love color. I love treats. I love texture. I love my babies. I love my man. I love faith. And I love that you stopped by!
The Modern Marigold


themodernmarigold {at} gmail {dot} com

Flickr Photos

More Photos


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

