advice, please

Meet Lizzy’s dresser. And Lizzy. But you already know her.

I got it at the DI — before Lizzy was even born — with the intent to refinish/repaint it before the baby came. Ahem.

It didn’t happen then, but I’m feeling up to the challenge now — especially since I’ve got some pretty paint leftover from painting Lizzy’s chair. I have basically no experience in this realm, though, so I’m hoping you guys do. I’m not sure how to describe the finish on the dresser, other than that it’s really shiny. My question is this: do I really have to sand it? Or will a good coat of primer suffice?

14 Responses to “advice, please”

  1. 1 Karin van D. October 3, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    I’m afraid I have to tell you I would sand it. My dad taught me: Always sand if you want a lasting result! So, I’d be a good girl ;-) So, it’s going to be blue, I guess? Nice!

  2. 3 Rebekah October 3, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    It looks like it might be laminate? If so, I wouldn’t sand. I’d just wipe it clean with a damp cloth and give it one coat of a good primer.

  3. 4 muffin October 4, 2010 at 12:21 am

    haha. Lizzy is wearing a grateful dead shirt :)

  4. 5 muffin October 4, 2010 at 12:25 am

    haha. Lizzy is wearing a grateful dead shirt :)
    What about that fancy green and black deal you did on the old table? Or – let lizzy pick the paint :)

  5. 6 Nicole October 4, 2010 at 1:04 am

    I love the shape of it! I refinished my old childhood dresser a few years ago and it was SO fun. Took longer than expected, though.

    Yeah, since it looks like laminate, it might be a different process. When in doubt, ask around at the paint store or Home Depot. Google results say…

    Can’t wait to see the results! : )
    *heart you*

  6. 7 jessica Anerson October 4, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Dj is a mastermind at finishing things- comes with his trade. He said that if you want it to stick, you will need to sand it. I actually bought one at a garage sale, and refinished it for annica. Turned out awesome! sand it , clean it, let it dry, and then paint it. Lizzy could even help!

  7. 8 Kimberly Heath October 4, 2010 at 5:59 am

    I had a similar situation a while back with my oldest’s dresser. I actually didn’t prime it, I just took it out back and spray painted it and it worked just peachy. I prayed the whole thing my base color and then added the other colors here and there, including the knobs. It turned our really nice.

  8. 9 Shawna October 4, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Make sure it’s wood not laminate on the outside before you sand it. And if it looks bad however you end up doing it, just paint a second coat. That’s what I do anyway :) Love the color.

  9. 10 Angie October 5, 2010 at 5:39 am

    Oh! I can help…I just bookmarked this post the other day for a future project I have…

    Hope it helps! She is the master.

  10. 11 S October 6, 2010 at 5:41 am

    That dresser is laminate. Don’t sand it, or you may end up under the laminate and into the particle board. Looks like Angie may have the answer.

  11. 12 Melanie October 8, 2010 at 3:06 am

    I have one that looks a lot like that one that also needs some fixing up. I think I’ll maybe sand it just a teeny bit–but I hate heavy-duty sanding, too. And I’m not sure laminate sands super well anyway. I was just going to use some super-duper primer–like the stuff they use on bathroom tile. I’ve also thought about finding an awesome contact paper, but it probably won’t last long and would be a pain to cut exactly. A few new knobs–maybe even different shaped one per drawer–could be fun, too.

    Can’t wait to see what you do. Maybe it will be inspirational for me, too.

  12. 13 Skooks October 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Sounds like you got some good advice. I was going to say watch out if it’s laminate with the sanding. My husband recently painted over some of my old bedroom furniture (real wood, but it had a finish on it) by just priming and painting and it turned out great.

  13. 14 Erin October 11, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I’m late,but I don’t care. I will have my say! I love painting stuff. Seriously, it may be my only useful (read marketable) skill. Zinsser primer is a must, as is Sherwinn Williams’ oil based Enamel. You won’t need more than a quart. That stuff will stick to anything! (If you want to paint it a really great turquoise color (Valspar’s Aqua Joy) I have a lot of leftover paint you can have.)

Leave a Reply

I'm Amanda. I love color. I love treats. I love texture. I love my babies. I love my man. I love faith. And I love that you stopped by!
The Modern Marigold


themodernmarigold {at} gmail {dot} com

Flickr Photos

More Photos


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

